Travel theme: New


Few years ago, after shopping, I went to the bus stop and I couldn’t believe in what I saw. I thought there were young hawks or something like that (I’m not a bird expert). There were about six of them. Young, curious, stupid. They couldn’t even fly. I spend with them quite a lot of time, happy to have my camera with me. Those photos were taken with Canon Powershot 520, without any good zoom, so you can imagine how close I could be.
Youngsters weren’t scared and looked at me with curiosity. I didn’t see a mother, they might felt down from a huge billboard under which I found them. I called Zoo, but they said that they can’t come and I should call municipal police to take them to Zoo. Municipal Police told them that they cannot take birds with them. And I didn’t have any carton, box or even a car. As I learn Kestrels live in the city and there is quite a lot of them there (but I have never again seen any).
I hope they survived. They were young, I observed them passing the road and I knew one second and the car can be there…
Anyway, it was an amazing moment. Right in the city.

IMG_5369

IMG_5370

IMG_5396

IMG_5403

IMG_5445

This post is my response to this week’s travel theme. More details here: http://wheresmybackpack.com/2012/12/28/travel-theme-new/

15 responses to “Travel theme: New

  1. I used to volunteer at a wildlife rescue centre.When people called up about baby birds , the advice “most” of the time was just to leave them be. That would certainly be the case with these young Kestrels , although seemingly blissfully unaware of the dangers around them , they were developed enough to be able to fly – and ultimately that is their best defence. Great to see them so close though! :-)

    • You are probably right. It’s like touching some animals cause that their parents will not take care of them anymore. I hope those were fine and survived until they learnt how to avoid risk.
      Thank you for your valuable comment.

  2. Pingback: A compilation of themes I missed | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity·

Say what you think

